Tags

,

“The great lesson from the true mystics, from the Zen Monks, and now also from the Humanistic and Transpersonal psychologists  – The sacred is in the ordinary…it is to be found in one’s daily life, in one’s neighbors, friends, and family, in one’s own backyard…”  – Abraham Maslow

I was reading an article by Ben Casnocha in which Ben was indicating that Life is not a Highlight Reel that we all would like to see and desire. He also quoted Maslow as above – one of the most impactful quotes that I ever read.

I have gone through many ups and downs in life so far and when I look back now, one thing that helped me – to handle the challenges that life has offered me – is not losing faith in future and in me. Not that I deliberately cultivated this faith, but it was there innate and just that I did not lose it.

That faith was nurtured by the joy that I could derive from small things that are there around me and around all of us, because these small things made my LIFE beautiful irrespective of the ups and downs. I am talking about my inner faith that no one can understand or see, except me.

I love to see the morning sun rising over the sea that I could see on my right when I board my first train to work on Chennai’s MRTS. I love to watch that beautiful Chepauk Cricket Stadium on the left where one can see the ground and its greenery from the train high above. Soothing music from the headphones and with sea and greenery to look at – it is a perfect start to work.

Most of the days, I get the window seat in the mainline that I jump into from MRTS, as I board the train at the station next to the station from where it starts, and that morning breeze with warm sun is always an exciting combination – one has to experience it to understand this.

Once I get down at the station which is opposite to the IT Park where my office is there, I will have to negotiate the traffic to cross the road and enter the IT Park. Once inside, it is a different world – surrounded by a hill and with a big open space – the 5-minutes walk to the block where I work is like a walk in the nature.

Back home, my room on the terrace offers me a great advantage of being able to fall asleep while watching the moonlight and in rainy season, the rain. Imagine going to the bed while seeing the rain and listening to the music it makes.

I am not sure how many in this India’s 4th largest city where I live can have the moments of joy like these.

The time that I spend with the little kid who lives in the ground floor of my house and those unadulterated smiles, cute sounds, and affection that only kids can show, is something that takes away all the thoughts of work day and make the evening fresh.

The talk that I have with my family as a daily routine before hitting the bed – the laughs that we share, problems that we discuss in the hope of seeing the solution just round the corner – is what gives me the energy and peace to take on the challenges of the next day.

Drive on the beach road while moving in and around home for errands, waking up to the chirping of birds in the morning, watching a talk show on TV, watching cricket, talking to my teams at work, well ! ..the list of little happy moments is endless, only when we want to experience.

All these moments of happiness are happening while I hold a BIG dream of future, all these while facing the challenges of LIFE, all these while negotiating the strong emotions of LIFE, and all these while pursuing the purpose of LIFE.

CHOICE is in front of us, whether to enjoy these small, beautiful moments of LIFE while working for the LIFE that we want or keep looking only for that LIFE that we want and ignoring all these moments of joy.

I chose the first one – what is yours?

