It was 8:00 a.m. on Monday and I rushed out of home to catch the 8:20 a.m. connecting-train to the main-line local train in order to reach my work place. My timing was perfect and could board the train on time at the changeover station just in time. I opened the bottle of water that I bought on the station’s platform, had a gulp, and nicely settled down in the window-seat. I just sat down for few minutes to relax and opened the news paper to read.

After half an hour or so, I folded down the news paper and kept it in the laptop bag that I carry and took out my headphones to listen to the music from the mobile phone. After enjoying the beats of DSP for few minutes, for reasons that I don’t know, my thoughts ran deep on life. It was kind of an internal dialogue (without any statistics that I mentioned below. I later did an online search to understand the high level numbers, give and take few millions).

What am I doing in Life?

What kind of an impact can I create on whichever little canvas that I operate on and will be operating on before I die? Why should I create an impact, first place?

How will people remember me after my death? I am not even sure how will my immediate family remembers me. Why should I worry about how will I be remembered after my death??

How do my friends see me as a person? What will they be talking about me when I leave this world? What kind of an image that I hold among my colleagues and fellow workers? How will they see me when I am no more? Why should I care about what they think?

Is life all about being born, becoming an adult, getting some education, getting married, earning money by going to job or by doing some business, raising children, getting retired, and dying? Yes, there are too many emotions involved with all these phases of life. There will be love; there will be disappointments, laughter, sorrow, grief, so-called success (!), etc. etc…But, is that all life can offer?

I always believe that life has little bit more to offer and it is not just about going through the cycles of emotion. We are living the way we are because of so many sacrifices and relentless efforts some of the people whom we would not even know. It is because of them that we are seeing the kind of world that we live in, at least in this shape.

I read daily newspapers in English, Telugu – both in print & online. There are billions in the world who does not know to read and write simple sentences.

I eat 3 times a day without fail and apart from this, eat whenever I want to too; forget about the money I spend on eating in fine dining restaurants. About 25,000 people die every day of hunger or hunger-related causes, according to the United Nations. This is one person every three and a half seconds.

I buy bottled water when I travel and drink purified water at home. 3.4 million people die each year from a water-related disease. 780 million people lack access to clean water, according to the WHO/UNICEF reports.

I have a good, decent house to live in comfortably in all seasons. An estimated 100 million people (one-quarter of the world’s population) live without shelter or in unhealthy and unacceptable conditions. Over 100 million people around the world have no shelter whatsoever.

I have a job on hand which takes care of all my money needs. 2.4 billion people live on less than $2/day (USD), and roughly 1.2 billion people live on less than $1.25/day (USD) – the definition of “extreme global poverty.

WELL!! I know that I have no control whatsoever on these numbers and cannot change any of these numbers, except for posting them on FB and getting couple of comments and likes.

But, deep within there is a feeling that I must contribute something in some way towards the world that I live in. Can I leave this world with a satisfaction of being able to contribute in my own ways? I don’t know.

There are many people around us who are just inspirational and amazing in the way they fight for the cause that they believe in. There are people working for better education, poverty eradication, against homelessness, against poverty, against racism, against dictatorship, well the list goes on.

I know for sure that I don’t have enough courage and stamina to go all out working for the some of the causes that I believe I should work for. But, I believe I can contribute in some small way, which I am still trying to figure out.

I only hope I will leave this world with a satisfaction of being able to contribute towards a change, being able to influence others positively, being able to live a life where at least few people will feel missing me for good reasons.

I, at this point in time of life, think I should have been planned my life little better, not from the perspective of earnings and making money, but from the perspective of contributing towards the causes that I believe in. For this reason, if there is a second life, I want to live that. I want to live twice.

